How to be successful in sales

December 30, 2008 at 3:54 pm 16 comments

Your Question: My question is connected with an example.

A U.S. heavy equipment manufacturer operating in London has been using Americans as salespeople. The company feels that it could reduce its costs hiring and training nationals as salespeople. What are the advantages and disadvantages to using Americans versus nationals selling abroad?

Our Answer: With many years of sales experience, representing complex database marketing solutions to large businesses, I have some pretty strong opinions on your question.

In sales, no matter what the product being sold, it’s key to remember that people still buy from people they like, trust and can connect with.  The best, most effective salesperson is the person who puts themselves in the shoes of their buyer.  The effective salesperson takes the time to get a thorough understanding of their clients’ motivations.  They learn their clients’ business; they understand their corporate pressures; they have a handle on what their client must do to be considered successful.

This deep understanding, of course, then allows the effective salesperson to tailor their message and their solution to meet those needs.  Going the extra mile and doing the research means that the salesperson will not have to ‘push’ their product at the client.  Instead, they’ll be bringing in solutions that offer a true benefit to the client.  Over time, the client will gain an appreciation of this ‘style’ and the salesperson will, most likely, be blessed with a good, long-lasting profitable customer relationship.

OK, so how does this rant relate to your question today?

Well, it’s my belief that the closer a salesperson is to a client, in terms of tangible and not so tangible things, the more effective they’ll be at building a close, lasting relationship–the kind described above.  It might be as simple as the school you went to, the sports you follow, the things you like to eat–this type of common ground starts to create a bond between people, and certainly between salesperson and client.

So, I have to weigh in on the side of hiring salespeople from the same country as the people they’ll be selling to.  Product knowledge is easy to obtain, through training and the right sales materials. But, if salesperson and client have similar backgrounds and can relate to each other immediately, you’re one step closer to building the relationship and making the sale.  If hiring nationals saves your firm money, then that’s another key benefit.

Perhaps you test the waters first by filling your next few sales spots with nationals.  Let them benefit from learning from their American peers and see, longterm, if my theory of sharing common ground equates to success.

Good luck!

Entry filed under: Sales Success.

Selling Direct Marketing Services Email to a Prospect List–OK or Not?

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeff Battiston  |  June 25, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    I agree! Relationships are essential in sales. Nice post.

    Reply
  • 2. Lelli Kelly Fan  |  July 1, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    There are lots of gorgeous children’s shoes about just now, designers appear to recently found a creative spurt. I am particularly loving Italian Lelli Kellys.

    Reply
  • 3. medical school application consultant  |  April 22, 2013 at 12:46 am

    Nice blog here! Also your website loads up fast!

    What host are you the use of? Can I get your
    associate hyperlink in your host? I desire my web site loaded up as fast as yours lol

    Reply
  • 4. Leia  |  April 28, 2013 at 12:00 am

    I’m not certain the place you are getting your info, however great topic. I must spend some time finding out more or understanding more. Thanks for great information I used to be looking for this information for my mission.

    Reply
  • 5. http://epicnuts.com/profile.php?id=8040  |  April 29, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site?

    My blog site is in the very same area of interest as yours
    and my visitors would really benefit from some
    of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this alright with you.
    Cheers!

    Reply
  • 6. theadventuresofsarahlee.blogspot.com  |  May 13, 2013 at 7:34 pm

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on holly. Regards

    Reply
  • 7. Casey  |  May 27, 2013 at 6:48 pm

    Heya are using WordPress for your site platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my
    own. Do you require any coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Reply
  • 8. Top Estate Planning Lawyer San Diego  |  June 7, 2013 at 11:46 pm

    I’m pretty pleased to discover this web site. I wanted to thank you for ones time due to this fantastic read!! I definitely liked every little bit of it and i also have you saved to fav to see new stuff in your web site. I though you should know, I bookmarked How to be successful in sales | Ask Direct Marketers at Pinterest so my coworkers can see it too. Could I also share a word of advice. Buying great video marketing can also be very tricky. I find it most favourable to talk with a a Great Bankruptcy Attorneys San Diego. Our crew of Amazing Probate Lawyers San Diego are here to assist with all your legal demands.

    Reply
  • 9. Darrel  |  June 26, 2013 at 8:49 pm

    Hey there I am so thrilled I found your blog page, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Yahoo
    for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks for
    a fantastic post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have
    time to read through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added
    your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do
    keep up the superb work.

    Reply
  • 10. heating repair in surfside  |  July 17, 2013 at 8:36 am

    Appreciation to my father who informed me about this web site, this website is
    in fact amazing.

    Reply
  • 11. new games giant bomb  |  October 6, 2014 at 12:16 am

    My brother recommended I might like this website. He was
    totally right. This post truly made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent
    for this information! Thanks!

    Reply
  • 12. sports36.eu  |  November 5, 2014 at 11:06 am

    Πρώτη φορά επισκέπτομαι το site σου και είμαι πολύ ευχαριστημένος που έχει τόσο
    ενδιαφέροντα άρθρα.

    Reply
  • 13. dota2hack.org  |  November 18, 2014 at 7:49 am

    Hello I don’t know whether it’s me or possibly your website but it is loading slow , I had to spend like a minute
    or two to finally load up on the other hand gmail operates well for me.

    Well, I need to say thanks for putting brilliant post. Perhaps it really
    has been necessary to a lot of people who came on this page.
    I personally ought to point out that you have done
    brilliant job with this as well as expect to see much more awesome stuff through you.
    I have got your site book-marked to check out blog you publish.

    Reply
  • 14. Claribel  |  May 1, 2015 at 4:44 am

    Hi! Your webpage is loading slow , this kind of took just
    like a minute or so in order to reload, I really have no idea whether or
    not it’s just simply me or perhaps your web page on the other hand google and yahoo loaded fine for me.

    Anyway, I appreciate you for placing an extraordinarily
    fantastic article. I’m assuming it really has become helpful to a
    lot of people . This one is definitely excellent everything
    that you actually have done on this site and want to see a lot
    more cool posts from your website. Immediately after looking at the article,
    I have bookmarked the website.

    Reply
  • 15. gta 5 for psp  |  May 28, 2015 at 5:20 pm

    Hello Your current web site starts up honestly slow for my situation, I not really
    know who’s issue is that however wikipedia starts up pretty immediate.
    Anyways, Thanks for creating such a awesome articles. Everyone who actually stumbled on this great site should have
    observed this content honestly very helpful.
    I personally have to mention that you actually have done wonderful job with this as
    well as hope to discover many more wonderful content through you.

    I already have you book-marked to see blog you post.

    Reply
  • 16. www.fifaworldhacks.com  |  October 16, 2015 at 9:42 am

    Hello there Your entire website runs up honestly slow in my situation, I not really know who’s issue is that but youtube starts fairly good.
    Nevertheless, I would like to say thanks for including excellent article.
    I assume this has been beneficial to many individuals . I
    personally have to state that you have done amazing job with this
    and additionally wish to see further great things through you.
    After viewing the blog post, I’ve book-marked
    your web site.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Let’s collaborate!

We promise to bring our direct marketing and business expertise to develop the best possible answer to each question posed. But, we don't know everything! If you see a question where you can add to our perspective, please comment and help round out the answer. We want Ask Direct Marketers to be the absolute best resource for direct marketers, and we can only get there with your help.

Categories

Add to Technorati Favorites

Feeds


